Verbal Ticks

Published June 14, 2014 by Dream Weaver

Is there a word or a phrase you use (or overuse) all the time, and are seemingly unable to get rid of? If not, what’s the one that drives you crazy when others use it?

Well besides all the usual curse words (I was a  Navy wife and mine always got worse than my late husband returned from a cruise), mine change.  In fact, mine change after I drive my spouse bonkers on purpose for a few months of torment.

There are Verbal Ticks that drive me crazy like the Budweiser “Wassup” that I threatened death to any family member who used it.

My spouse is a older man raised Catholic and occasionally will mutter one he picked up from his mother “Jesus, Mary & Joseph” .  It makes me snicker, knowing he’s totally frustrated wit me yet again, which makes me laugh harder.

There is the one parent’s hear from their children “Oh Mom! or Oh, Dad!”

Now even better yet, is the 6 year old grandson who rolls his eyes and lets out, “Get real!”

Now for those I grew up with, thanks Grandma:

  • People in Hell want ice water. 
  • You’d bitch if you were hung with a new rope.
  • Get off you keister.
  • Go out and play in traffic.
  • You broke my floor ( or other thing when we got hurt and were crying)

Yes, I use the above Verbal Ticks just as a way of keeping my grandmother around and so I can laugh at the memories.

Last but not least:

“THE END”  is it story or movie ever really over?

 

dp

Leave a Reply

