Insecurities and the Right to Brag

Published June 14, 2014 by Dream Weaver

Right to Brag

Tell us about something you (or a person close to you) have done recently (or not so recently) that has made you really, unabashedly proud.


 

Image

When you you are insecure and your pride was beaten down through years of abuse it’s hard to ‘toot your own horn’. You never seem good enough, no matter how many people praise you.  You either hide from the world, contribute quietly, or you are always trying to save the world. If you are really talented you can do all three at the same time, by volunteering or things like Genealogy.

I have been involved volunteering in one way or another since High School by: Walking for Hunger, office worker for a Presidential Election or joining a Campaign to save a Elephant in a Zoo from death!  

As an adult, I joined several boards for major charities and/or volunteering in their front lines.  I have been associated with the American Red Cross as a volunteer for about ten years.  I have done everything and anything needed except being deployed to another state on national disasters, but have been involved in Local and National Disasters in my state.

With all the praise for jobs well done, has my insecurities improved with time?  Have I been able to see myself as a caring wonderful person?  Can I look in the mirror and say ‘you are a wonderful person’ ‘or ‘well done’ yet?

“I am working on it” (brag)

 

Right To Brag

One comment on “Insecurities and the Right to Brag

Leave a Reply

